Associations & Awards


Alumni German Scholars Organization Leadership Academy 19/20

Associate Researcher at the Insitute for interdisciplinary Research on Conflict and Violence, Bielefeld University (since January 2017).

Associate Researcher at the “Laboratory for Comparative Social Research” of Higher School of Economics, Moscow/St. Petersburg, Russia (since March 2014).

Lecturer at Evangelische Hochschule Darmstadt (since 2015)

Member of the „Fachstelle für Fußball und Konflikt“ (“task force football & conflict”) at the Insitute for interdisciplinary Research on Conflict and Violence, Bielefeld University (since February 2014).

Member of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Soziologie (since 2020)

Previous institutional memberships: American Society of Criminology, Eastern Sociological Society, International Society of Political Psychology

Awards & Grants

William L. Simon/Routledge Outstanding Paper Award 2019 by the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences for the Paper “A Culture of Hostility and Crime Motivated by Bias: A Cross-National Multilevel Analysis of Structural Influences.” Co-authored with Sylwia Piatkowska

DFG Research Fellowship (“Forschungsstipendium”) for 2 years at State University New York, University at Albany, Project: “Institutional Integration, Marketized Mentality, and Group-focused Enmity: Understanding the Structural and Cultural Sources of Group Prejudice and its Consequences”.

Fellowships and travel bursarys for participating at numerous international conferences: travel bursary of the Irish Research Councils, DAAD- Kongress- und Vortragsreisen, Qualifikationsförderung Mittelbau der Fakultät für Erziehungswissenschaft Universität Bielefeld, Conference fellowship of the Higher School of Economics, Moskau, GAIN 2019-Participant, GSO Leadership Academy Boston/Darmstadt.

Fundraising as well as scientific consulting for IKG projects: “ZuGleich – Zugehörigkeit und Gleichwertigkeit” (Mercator-Foundation), the Deutschen Fußball Fanstudie (DFL) and the “Mitte-Studien” (Friedrich-Ebert-Foundation) led by Prof. Andreas Zick